Carefree rains,come again.

image
Rains rains, come again.

With rains come memories! Beautiful ones.
Like coming back from school and going to the terrace directly when it started raining on the way back but I couldn’t enjoy because I was on the freaking school bus. Singing those stupid rain songs while “bathing” in the heavenly showers. Getting a severe cold and having my parents go out of their way to take care of me. Even jumping in the puddles sometimes. It sounds sickly and gross now. Not then. It was awesome back then.
I remember it all now when I am coming back from college and it starts raining. No one’s waiting for me when I am soaked to the skin in the unexpected rains. No one tells me I might get an infection if I jump in those dirty puddles. Maybe that’s why I have stopped. Nor do I get the urges to go upstairs to the PG terrace and sing my off-key heart out while dancing and getting soaked.
Nor the pelting raindrops assaulting my face give me that comfort now that they always have. I always loved those lazer sharp rain bullets hitting me on my back. Painfully relaxing. And the sweet customized rain-only scent. It was heavenly.
How I craved it. Now it’s all just environmental biology;nature. No more emotional attachments anymore.
I remember once it had “snowed over”. Let me tell you why it was special. In north India, it doesn’t snow. Like ever. The terrain’s just not that way. We get rains and ungodly winds,but never snow. So,that day the moment my brother and I got down from the school bus, we noticed something different. Something white. Surely it couldn’t be…!We ran to our house and the white stuff was everywhere. Like everywhere. We started jumping. It had snowed! Mumma told us it wasn’t snow,exactly. It was just the hardened water drops. Very harsh to touch, nowhere near smooth like the cottony slice of heaven we had always imagined snow to be. But you know what?We didn’t care. We had Maggie on the terrace. It had snowed at our house and it was awesome.
I visited numerous places over the years,seen plenty of mountains covered in snow,and had those same Maggie noodles surrounded by the fluffy, honest-to-God snow. But it just never compared.*shrugs*
Littlest of things hold so much significance in our lives. We make memories. We enjoy. And then, we grow up. Those things aren’t all that important now. Not that awesome. But the memories!*sighs* Some make us laugh. Some make us cry. Some make me bawl my eyes out like a baby. Some make me giggle. (I don’t giggle generally.*glares*)
And some just bring a HONEST-TO-GOD smile to my face. Like all these. And those makeshift swimming pools we used to make when we blocked the terrace drain when it rained heavily and splashed around till mumma came upstairs. It was a terrifying nightmare after that.*visibly shudders*
What I wouldn’t give to go back for one more such carefree rainy day.*wistful sigh*

Toodles!
~A♥~

17 thoughts on “Carefree rains,come again.

  1. Here, it never snows…
    And the hardest rain droplets can get is hailstones… Which melt almost instantly…
    But i remember little me running to rain…
    Facing the sky… Trying to catch every drop…
    On my mouth it tasted heavenly …
    On my face it felt céleste..
    Its glory was too much for my little hands to hold… But i enjoyed how gracefully it slid into the soil…

    Today, dark clouds are all it takes…
    Rains have somehow become a plague…
    A threat to my permed hair…
    A threat to my very much adored wardrobe…
    A threat to my very well ‘made up’ face…
    And oh ! Am I forgetting my asthmatic chest?!?!

    But dancing in the rain is not completely out ruled…
    For i am yet to kiss under the rain…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OH MY GOD!
      This is the most beautiful comment I have ever read.And I am not exaggerating at all. This is such a beautiful comment…breathtaking!
      It is a blend of hope,and acceptance, and memories.:)
      I don’t really have words to say in response, because it feels like it would fall short,no matter what.*sighs*
      But, anyway,now that you put it in words,maybe my reason for not really liking rains so much is somewhat expressed in your words above along with the lack of family to enjoy it with, ofcourse. :/
      We don’t want to mess up our “Perfect” existence. -.-

      Anyway,I am so gonna check your blog out. If the comments are so fabulous, I cannot imagine what the posts would be like.:D

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You needn’t say more for your appreciation is more than enough…
        Unfortunately i haven’t posted anything yet… Been quite shy… Or is it afraid of not being good enough…
        But it seems your enthusiasm towards my comment is all I needed to start up… Thank you… *YOU must be heaven sent…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Awww you should. ASAP. I would love to read it.
        And don’t be afraid to post on WP. It’s awesome,I tell you. You will love it once you start,believe me.:D
        I am saying that from personal experience. *GRINS*
        And I am not heaven sent,trust me.*sheepish smile*

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

